My Wedding Flowers: Calla Lilies, Catalleya Orchid Bouquets, and Pomander Kissing Balls

Home from the flower mart with HALF my inventory.

Home from the flower mart with HALF my inventory.

This past weekend was my big day!  People thought I was insane to do my own wedding flowers, but it turned out GREAT!  It’s all about planning for the TIME to do it the week of — I take it back — the DAY BEFORE!  It was hectic, but I had great help and I kept my flowers and design super simple.. so that I could DELEGATE (with instructions) and be confident that it will turn out perfect.  My flowers were a combination of modern simplisity meets rustic.  OK, you’ll just have to see the pictures.

Billy Balls (4 bunches)

Billy Balls (4 bunches)

Tall white callas

Tall white callas (11 bunches)

White Hydrengeas (4 bunches)

White Hydrengeas (4 bunches)Yellow English Rose (2 bunches)

Second batch of inventory: More white hydrengeas, yellow & white mini calla lilies, white english roses, fillers, seeded eucalyptus

Second batch of inventory: More white hydrengeas, yellow & white mini calla lilies, white english roses, fillers, seeded eucalyptus

 Cattaleya Orchids (10)

Cattaleya Orchids (10)

 
After staging everything, we got to work!  Here’s our progress:
ffdsafdsa

Hydrengeas in small vases. 1 of the 3 pieces to the Centerpiece

Billy Balls (3) in white vase.

Billy Balls (3) in white vase

Mini Calla Lilies (7 BM Bouquets)3 Bunches of Callas per vase.

Mini Calla Lilies (7 BM Bouquets)

Oh, can’t forget the boutonnieres:
seeded euculilptus w/ billy ball

seeded euculilptus w/ billy ball

 

Tall Callas on black pillars

Tall Callas on black pillars

And lastly.. my flower girls…with their kissing balls
Niko 070509 246
 
I had such a wonderful team of apprentices and setup crew:
Janice, Teresa, and my Mom

Janice, Teresa, and my Mom, showing their bouttiniere making skills.

A million thank yous and credits to:
Day-of Wedding Coordinator:  Monica L.
Setup Crew: Laura M., Tina L., Dave W., Brian S., Kelly C., Glen S., and several others that I’m sure I’ve missed. 
I didn’t post a picture of the wish tree, my bouquet, and centerpieces because I was too busy getting married!  I can’t wait to see how the professional pictures turned out!!! 
 
7 thoughts on “My Wedding Flowers: Calla Lilies, Catalleya Orchid Bouquets, and Pomander Kissing Balls

  1. Pingback: DIY: Creative Photobooth Backdrops « :: SignatureK Events – Blah Blah Blog ::

  2. thank you SO MUCH for this post. I am getting married in may 2010 and my colors are yellow and grey. these flower idea are AMAZING! i really want to use the billy balls and those white ikea vases are just perfect. thank you a million!!

    • I’m so glad you found it useful! Endless creativity with yellow and grey. For a more rustic look, you can use succulents too! They are cheap, last forever! and so beautiful and easy to work with; goes great with the billy balls too.

Leave a Reply

