Yellow Ranunculus Flower Ball

Ranunculus Flower Ball

Ranunculus Flower Ball

I was asked to do the flowers for my cousin’s wedding in June 2009 (almost here!). I wanted to see if my interpretation of what she wanted was accurate, so I did a trial run. She had described a chic-original feel for her wedding. The colors would be yellow/gold and white.

I made a run to the San Diego Floral Trade Center one morning and bought some Ranunculus, pompoms, white cattaleya orchids and billy balls. I also bought some tall calla lillies to try for my own wedding in July. Unfortunately, it was a rare hot day in SD. I put them in water outside in the backyard for a few hours, but the sun was too much. When I went to construct the flower balls, it was a little wilted and soft at the neck of the flowers, especially the sensitive ranunculus’. It made it THAT much harder to insert each stem into the ball, but alas, it was done. FYI – after a cool night, the flowers were back to their perky stiff self again!.. so, it pays to wait sometimes. Here’s the bunch together on my kitchen island!

Pompom flower ball (used 4-inch ball)

Pompom flower ball (used 4-inch ball)

callas, ranunculus, cattaleyas, billy balls

callas, ranunculus, cattaleyas, billy balls

Leave a Reply

